Lost in time

I looked everywhere for something I lost along the way
It was so real yet it seems like a dream today
The touch of the first drop of rain on my face
The tiny squirrel on the tree which was fun to chase
The first stray puppy I brought home hidden in my bag
The first saree I bought for mom minus a designer tag
The first dip in a swimming pool clinging to dad’s back
The first comic I stole from my brother’s book rack
The first time I wished upon a falling star
The taste of my first five star chocolate bar
The first cake dad baked in a saucepan
The first time I faced a mini skirt ban
The first scraped knee from a nasty bicycle fall
The first goal I kicked in an all boys game of football
The first and only tree I drew and painted right
The first time I beat a bully in a fist fight
I looked everywhere for something I lost along the way
It was so real yet it seems like a distant dream today
Today I run to escape the pitter patter of the rain
I avoid the stray puppy and get irked by the squirrel’s strain
I don’t ride a bicycle, there is no time to paint
The colors in my first painting have become faint
Dreams and hopes have given in to dread and fears
Eyes don’t see colors since they are always clouded with tears
But the door creaks open and I see a stream of light
In bounces my little son, his eyes shining bright
I found what I had long lost along the way
It is so real and I see it clearly in his dreamy eyes today

Google+

4 thoughts on “Lost in time

Leave a Reply

