Reading Essentials: A list by a 4 year old for tiny bookworms

Little Zoe graciously agreed to share not ten but twelve of her favourites! It can get torturous to choose just 10, hence we understand. Our correspondent, mommy Falak, did a brilliant job at the interview and has sworn no unfair means were used in building the list. 

11328934_10155527498945004_482066456_n-2

This 4 year old loves books and she loves talking. Making her come up with this list was ‘easy peasy lemon squeezy’ (as she would put it).

Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson

*She said Gruffalo without even thinking twice, and I knew this will top the list; I wasn’t sure about the others though.

“I have always loved Gruffalo, it’s my favorite book, and I love everything Gruffalo story tells. It’s so… so nice. I love the mouse when he takes the stole (stroll). And you always make a face when I tell you to read Gruffalo.”

Well that’s because we must have read it more than 200 times.

There’s no Place like space by Dr. Seuss
Because in the beginning of the story the Cat in the Hat calls everyone to come in space. I love space.

Handa’s Suprise by Eileen Browne:
I love it because all animals eat all fruits, and Handa eats the beans… no… no…Tangerines.

I’m really really Concentrating (Charlie and Lola) by Lauren Child:
I love it because in the end Lola gets a big prize. Lola is just like me, no?

My Name is not Isabella by Jennifer Fosberry :
I like this book, because I like Isabella, she keeps saying “My name is not…. my name is not.” Funny girl.

Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans:

I LOVE Madeline because ‘to the tiger in the Zoo, Madeline always said Pooh Pooh’. (That is her favorite line in the book.)

Room on the broom by Julia Donaldson:
When the witch starts with her cat, she takes all animals, like dog, frog and bird with her.

Ismat’s Eid by Fawzia Gilani – Williams:
Everyone cuts and cuts and cuts his pants, he wears shorts. Ismat is very funny.

Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister
I like it because the blue fish has so many special shiny scales, they are glittering. I also like it because I like sharing, just like rainbow fish… (this second sentence is not entirely true)

Monkey Puzzle by Julia Donaldson:
Because in the end of the story ‘monkey puzzle’ finds his mamma and daddy.

Green Eggs on Ham by Dr Seuss:
Because Sam I am keeps saying ‘Eat Green eggs, eat green eggs, eat green eggs.”

Stickman by Julia Donaldson:
I love stickman because he comes back home at the end. Santa is so good, no?

I do this exercise with her pretty often; I have realized people create hype around age levels. Some of the above mentioned books have been her favorite since she was a year old, and she hasn’t outgrown them. Her perspective about the book might change, but she still loves these books as much.

Thank you Falak for raising a bookworm with a huge appetite. And little Zoe, a big hug for sharing your favourites with so many bookworms out there. 

2 thoughts on “Reading Essentials: A list by a 4 year old for tiny bookworms

  1. Totally agree! I started reading to my daughter from the time she was a baby! She used to love the pictures on them! She is an avid reader and she keeps revisiting her baby books and tells me how I could use them to do activities at my center an extension on reading. She is almost seven now and she reads like a. 12 year old! What I have also noticed is reading early also helps them.with high comprehension skills and develop a flair for writing builds imagination and creativity besides building good vocabulary! And she has taken on to.good drawing and painting skills thanks to the books she keeps reading that has helped with this skill too.

    Like

  2. Totally agree! I started reading to my daughter from the time she was a baby! She used to love the pictures on them! She is an avid reader and she keeps revisiting her baby books and tells me how I could use them to do activities at my center an extension on reading. She is almost seven now and she reads like a. 12 year old! What I have also noticed is reading early also helps them.with high comprehension skills and develop a flair for writing builds imagination and creativity besides building good vocabulary! And she has taken on to.good drawing and painting skills thanks to the books she keeps reading that has helped with this skill too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

