Reading Essentials : An Eight year old’s guide for reluctant readers

image1

Reading interests vary and eight year old Shreshta Manikandan’s list is a perfect example. Shreshta is an avid reader but she finds chapter books too long for now. She is more inclined towards picture books and short stories. Our reporter Archana deserves a huge round of applause for not rushing her and letting her choose her own books.

  1. A Christmas Carol retold by Gaby Goldsack (Parragon Books)

This was the first book which I started to read independently, it said about the past present and future. How nice it would be if we knew the future in advance!

  1. There is no place like space by Dr.Suess

I like it because I love to learn about space. Space lovers will like it.

  1. Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers

My mom gave me this book for an assignment in school. I had to write about friendship between human and animal. I came to know about Oliver Jeffers after reading this and collected all other books. I like his books because all stories are short.

  1. Silly story of Bondapalli by Shamim Padamsee

 Simple. I like bondas and this book is about bondas!

  1. Paper dolls by Julia Donaldson

This is a story where a mother helps her daughter in making paper dolls. With this one, I came to know about Julia Donaldson and collected the rest. They are all simple and short.

  1. The bookworm by by Lavanya R. N. and Shilo Shiv Suleman

 Sesha the bookworm indirectly tell us to read a book everyday.

  1. Days with Thathu by Geeta Dharmarajan

Simple book and I like it because I love my Thathu.

  1. Handa’s surprise by Eileen Browne

 Handa takes fruits for her friend that the animals on the way take from her, but towards the end she finds a surprise.

  1. Library Lion by Michelle Knudsen

My favourite book. I read this for more than 4 times. I like the pictures in the book and also the friendly lion.

  1. Diary of wimpy kid by Jeff Kinney.

This is my first and biggest chapter book! I have not even completed half of the story but it looks funny and interesting. I think chapter books will also be good.

 Thank you, Shreshta! And yes, you are right. Chapter books will be good too!

Leave a Reply

