Reading Essentials : An 11-year-old’s list for other middle grade readers.

The Reading Essentials series has unearthed a huge variety of books! And the list grows with Manisha sending in her report about her eleven-year-old Reading Raccoon. Take a look:

20151023_145936

Maanavi is 11 years old. I started reading books to her when she was around 6 months old. She started reading on her own when she was around five years of age. Maanvi started with the Read it Yourself Ladybird series. She loves reading fiction and currently she’s enjoying the classics. This is the list of her favourites :

1.Dork Diaries series by Rachel Renee Russel

It’s funny! And I love the way Nikki expresses her school life in a diary.

2.Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery 

I like the mischievous orphan girl and I also like how she makes so many mistakes and somebody says that orphan boys are better than orphan girls but they all end up loving Anne. She also grows up to become a beautiful and smart lady.

3.Charile and The Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

I like the character Charlie because he is not at all greedy and is happy with what he has unlike the other children who were spoilt brats. I also like the idea of a chocolate factory where everything is made of chocolates and candies. All children would love to be a part of a factory like that!

4.Thea Stilton series (Geronimo Stilton)

I like these series since each book they go on different adventures and there are interesting facts in between about the different countries they go to.

5.Little Women by Louis May Alcott

I like the way the sisters in that book bond and do fun things together and lead their lives. But it’s sad when they slowly get separated when Beth dies and the others get married.

6.The Magic Finger by Roald Dahl

This book is hilarious and I like the way she changes everything that her finger touches.

7.How I taught my Grandmother to read by Sudha Murty

This book reminds me of my grandmother. I feel happy because of the way the granddaughter teaches her grandmother with a lot of patience, when most of the children today don’t spend time with their grandparents at all.

8.Mighty Mount Kilamanjaro (Geronimo Stilton):

I don’t read Geronimo books that often but I like this particular one because I like how Geronimo climbs Mt Kilamanjaro just to make his nephew happy and that’s a very sweet thing to do.

9.The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

It’s very interesting and makes you curious. You keep wondering what’s going to happen next.

  1. Heidi by Johanna Spyri

I love her life in the mountains with her grandfather and how she makes new friends.

Thanks for the lovely list Maanavi and thank you, Manisha for sending it in! We wish to see many more lists from you. 

Leave a Reply

