Reading Essentials : A nine year old’s list for other middle readers.

image2

Aanya loves to read and was a little reluctant to write the list but when she started she didn’t know why she had to stop at 10 books. She is currently reading the  Secret Seven series and enjoys the mystery and adventure.Her list: 
1. Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
I like the way it teaches people to be gentle and caring towards animals.

2.The Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum
I like it!

3. Secret Seven Books  by Enid Blyton 
It’s full of mystery & adventure.

4. Matilda  by Roald Dahl 
I like it when Miss Honey is with Matilda in the end

5. Charlie & the chocolate factory by Roald Dahl 
It makes my mouth water!

6. Rosie Revere Engineer by Andrea Beaty 
I like Rosie, she doesn’t give up.

7. Following my paintbrush by Gita Wolf
I love the colourful pictures in the book. Going to try to do my painting.

8. Mahabharata  by Shanta Rameshwar Rao
Enjoyed reading it as we did our annual day drama about a scene from it.

9. Charlotte’s Web by E. B White
I love the story. Sometimes it makes me cry.

10. The secret garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
I would love to find a secret garden to explore.

Aanya can often be found sharing a torch to read with her little sister Diya.
Aanya can often be found sharing a torch to read with her little sister Diya.

Thank you for sending the list in Menka! And Aanya, you didn’t have to stop at 10! That is just an arbitrary figure that the silly old raccoons cling on to. So next time, break some rules! 

Leave a Reply

