Reading Essentials: An Eight-year-old’s book-list for other eight-year-olds

Every once in a while a list finds its way into the mailbox simply to brighten my day. This is one of those. Sia Thilakar is a smart bookworm who deliberated over the “contract” for a while before signing it in presence of a ‘witness.’ This is a win-win situation for us – A little bookworm got paid and we got to know about such gems! In fact, we need to be thankful to Sia for showing the way to future contributors. If you are a tiny bookworm, and if you are reading this, feel free to copy the contract and get paid for your hard work. After all, choosing just ten book sis the toughest task of them all.

20151121_155313

Over to Sia: 

Books are a good way for your children to learn new things. They provide entertainment, and encourage them to participate in different writing competitions. After reading some at home, the best way is to take them to the library and encourage them to read more. Here, I have written an article based on ten of my favourite books.

The Brer Rabbit Collection by Enid Blyton

Do you like small, mischivous rabbits? Well then, here’s a story about one such. In the Brer Rabbit Collection, follow the journey of Brer Rabbit as he fools and tricks his various friends in the forest.

I like the book because it is full of entertainment, and can be useful to read when you are bored. I also like it because it is by one of my favourite authors, Enid Blyton. This book will continue to be my favourite forever because it is a very well-written book and the use of various characters makes it even better.

This is one of the books that kickstart my imagination.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Ever wondered about a story about four sisters? Here it is! Little Women is a story about the four March sisters – Amy, Jo, Beth and Meg – and their busy daily lives.

I like this book because it tells a serious tale about the sisters and their mother. There are good uses of words and sentences. The punctuation is perfect and the pictures are drawn very well.

This book used to be my favourite when I was around 6-7 years old. I still continue to like it now.

Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary

This book revolves around a girl called Ramona Quimby. She’s just entered third grade and the story tells about her life in third grade.

I like this book because it is funny and has good writing technique. It also has very nice pictures. I liked it when I was around 6-7 years old.

Indira Gandhi by Sreelatha Menon

Ever read a story about a female prime minister? Then read it now! Indira Gandhi was Jawaharlal Nehru’s daughter. She achieved a lot when she grew up. I have learnt a lot of things from this book.

It will continue to be one of my all-time favourites forever. I like it because it is very well written and the author has used very precise words.

Judy Moody Declares Independence by Megan McDonald

This story revolves around adorable little Judy Moody as she goes to Boston and pretends to declare independence. I used to love the Judy Moody series when I was 7-8 years old. I like it because it is very hilarious and the author always manages to make Judy and her friends adorable.

Thea Stilton – Journey to Atlantis by Elisabetta Dami

Follow the Thea sisters as they solve one more of their mysteries on finding where Atlas, a strange blue boy has come from. I like this book because it is very mysterious and adventurous and is a bit funny too. I liked this book when I was 6-7 years old.

Matilda by Roald Dahl

This story revolves around Matilda, a little bookworm, who is hated by her parents and school principal. See how she fights and ignores them. I like this book because it is very funny, the characters are put in a nice way, and many more reasons.

This book is one of my all-time favourites. This book shoos away my boredom.

Brave Women of India ( Amar Chitra Katha collection) 

Brave Women of India is a collection of five stories about Queen Laxmibai, Queen Chennamma, Queen Abbakka, Sultana Razia and Kalpana Chawla. Learn about their achievements and more from this book.

I like the book because of the brave women the author chose. I liked this book when I was 6-7 years old.

The adventures of Suppandi – 1 (Tinkle collection)

This book is a delightful collection of foolish Suppandi’s antics and misunderstandings. I like this book because it is hilarious and Suppandi has been characterized very nicely.

Suppandi was my favourite when I was 6-7 years old.

Krishna : A graphic novel by Shweta Taneja

“Krishna” is a book about Lord Krishna, the controller of the universe. Follow his life’s journey from birth and childhood to manhood and finally death.

I like this book because it is very interesting, has precise words, has beautiful pictures, and of course beautiful writing. Krishna is one of my all-time favourite books.

Thank you Haribabu for being a propah reporter! And thank you Sia for sharing this treasure with us. Keep the lists coming! 

Leave a Reply

